Tanja Bogo
o.T.
2008
Installation



Anne P÷hlmann
flash 33
2008
s/w-Print
Ma▀e variabel

The art academies

For the first time selected graduates of five outstanding artistic and creative academies located in the Rhineland region present themselves and their work at the junge biennale new talents.

Due to its academies good reputation in germany and abroad, the Rhineland has become a centre of artistic and creative education. In a biennial cycle new talents presents the young promising artists of these first-class academies of Cologne and D├╝sseldorf.

Kunsthochschule f├╝r Medien
The Kunsthochschule f├╝r Medien K├Âln was founded in 1990 and offers a special and unique concept of study: instead of separating the fields of film, television, art, design and theory, they are integrated into a single academic carrier leading to a diploma in Audiovisual Media.

Hochschule f├╝r Musik K├Âln
The Hochschule f├╝r Musik K├Âln is one of the well-known and well-established conservatoires in Europe, offering a wide range of excellent educational subjects, including all artistic and musicological disciplines as well as those of musical education. This involves a wide depth and breadth of available courses.
The chance of consequent interdisciplinarity, a potential for innovative developments and impulses, as well as the international network, currently with 39 high-ranking partner universities in 22 countries in Europe and abroad, characterises the Hochschule f├╝r Musik K├Âln.

ifs internationale filmschule k├Âln
An educational concept, professionally qualifying top executives for the film and TV industry, has been developed by the government of the Land North Rhine-Westphalia and the Filmstiftung North Rhine-Westphalia. At the beginning of 2000 the ifs was founded based on the successful models of the Schreibschule K├Âln e.V. and the Filmschule NRW e.V. ÔÇô having already in mind a future expansion of offers.

K├Âln International School of Design
At the KISD, students work problem-oriented and with a interdisciplinary approach in different projects and seminars within twelve areas of expertise. These overlapping areas focalise on certain areas, that form the basis for a problem-oriented and multi-dimensional design discourse. This consolidation creates a clear profile and simplifies the interaction with the existing know-how of other universities. Key aspects of the areas of expertise are e.g. health-care, mobility, work environment, knowledge and educational organisations, as well as questions and problems of empiricism and systemization of signs or horizons for coping with the possibilities of design.

Kunstakademie D├╝sseldorf
The academy and its artists (professors and graduates) have an excellent reputation in Germany and abroad. Already in the 19th century (ÔÇ×D├╝sseldorfer MalerschuleÔÇŁ) many of the most famous German artists were graduated in D├╝sseldorf. Since the beginning of the 1950th the academy of arts has asserted a similarly prominent position for contemporary art. This is expressed by a decisive presence at international exhibitions (e.g. the Venice Biennial). The artists of the academy represent the international art scene; many of them rank among the most famous protagonists.


A total of more than 50 graduates of the last four years in the areas of media, art, film, music and design have been selected. In this frame the Biennale new talents represents the upcoming trend towards the crossover of artistic and creatice areas, where clear classifications disappear. The presented graduates often completed a second interdisciplinary degree.

Bieling | Heydekamp | Klotsch | Zelmer
talking towers
2008
interaktive Videoprojektion



Sven Hahne & Matthias Muche
Mnner mit Motoren
elektroakustische Konzerte mit Videoprojektionen

Die Hochschulen

Erstmals gemeinsam stellen bei der jungen biennale new talents ausgewählte Absolventen fünf herausragender künstlerischer und gestalterischer Hochschulen des Rheinlandes sich und ihre Arbeiten vor.

Das Rheinland hat sich durch seine Hochschulen von - auch international - hervorragendem Ruf zu einer Hochburg der künstlerischen und gestalterischen Ausbildung entwickelt. new talents präsentiert im zweijährigen Turnus die Nachwuchstalente dieser erstklassigen Hochschulen Kölns und Düsseldorfs:

Kunsthochschule für Medien
Die Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln wurde 1990 gegründet und bietet ein spezielles und einmaliges Ausbildungskonzept an: Statt die Bereiche Film, Fernsehen, Kunst, Design und Theorie voneinander zu trennen, werden sie in einem Studiengang mit dem Abschluss Audiovisuelle Medien (Diplom) integriert.

Hochschule für Musik Köln
Die Hochschule für Musik Köln gehört zu den traditionsreichsten und renommiertesten Musikhochschulen in Europa. Sie bietet eine Exzellenzausbildung in der vollen Breite aller künstlerischen, musikwissenschaftlichen und musikpädagogischen Fächer und eine damit verbundenen Dichte und Bandbreite des Studienangebots.
Die Chance zu konsequenter Interdisziplinarität, ein Potential für innovative Entwicklungen und Impulse (Jazz, zeitgenössische Musik, Kammermusik u.a.) und nicht zuletzt die internationale Vernetzung mit z.Zt. 39 hochrangigen Partnerhochschulen in 22 Ländern innerhalb und außerhalb Europas zeichnen die Hochschule für Musik Köln aus.

ifs internationale filmschule köln
Von der Landesregierung Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Filmstiftung Nordrhein-Westfalen wurde ein Ausbildungskonzept entwickelt, das professionell Spitzenkräfte für die Film- und Fernsehwirtschaft ausbildet. Die ifs ging Anfang 2000 aus den erfolgreichen Modellen der Schreibschule Köln e.V. und der Filmschule NRW e.V. hervor – mit dem Ziel, die Angebote weiter auszubauen.

Köln International School of Design
Die zwölf Lehrgebiete der KISD arbeiten interdisziplinär und problemorientiert in Projekten und Seminaren zusammen. Diese Schnittmengen fokussieren bestimmte temporäre Themenfelder, die die Grundlage für eine inhaltliche, problemorientierte Ebene der gestalterischen Auseinandersetzung darstellt. Die Verdichtung schafft ein deutlicheres Profil und erleichtert die Interaktion mit dem an anderen Hochschulen vorhandenen Know-how. Themenschwerpunkte sind beispielsweise Gesundheitswesen, Mobilität, Arbeitswelt, Wissens- und Bildungsorganisation aber auch Fragestellungen der Empirie und Systematik der Zeichen oder Horizonte der Gestaltbarkeit.

Kunstakademie Düsseldorf
Die Akademie als Hochschule, aber auch ihre Künstler (Professoren und Absolventen) genießen hohes nationales und internationales Ansehen. Bereits im 19. Jahrhundert („Düsseldorfer Malerschule”) waren viele der berühmtesten Künstler Deutschlands Düsseldorfer Absolventen. Seit den fünfziger Jahren behauptet die Kunstakademie eine ähnlich bedeutende Stellung für die Kunst der Gegenwart. Dies äußert sich etwa durch maßgebliche Beteiligungen an internationalen Ausstellungen (z.B. der Biennale Venedig). Die Künstler der Akademie repräsentieren die internationale Kunstszene, viele zählen zu ihren bekanntesten Protagonisten.


Insgesamt über 50 Absolventen der letzten vier Jahre aus den Sparten Medien, Kunst, Film, Musik und Design wurden ausgewählt. Die Biennale spürt dabei die zunehmende Tendenz eines Crossovers der Sparten auf, in der eindeutige Zuordnungen wegfallen. Nicht selten haben die beteiligten Absolventen ein fächerübegreifendes Zweitstudium absolviert.